Author Topic: Some help will do. anybody?  (Read 2639 times)

dscandal

  • Cool Kat
  • **
  • Posts: 10
Some help will do. anybody?
« on: March 30, 2016, 10:41:28 PM »
I have been having some problems with my MalletKat.
 I am in a salsa band and I play all the melodies melodic
 stuff on the Malletkat with a vibe sample. I found a great
 steady gig but It almost seems that the place has an
 electrical problem. I played 2 gigs with the malletkat
 randomly triggering notes during play. Very embarrassing and
 Some REALLY loud and some notes don't sound when struck.
 MIDI monitor shows a nonstop cycle of midi program changes
 or something. (the message "reset" appears 10 times a second) I have a MK that was just refurbished last
 year or not even a year. Last night it happened again, I am
 not reliable to play lead in the band now. How can I
 troubleshoot this issue. After the gig, I went back to my
 practice space as soon as I could and the thing worked fine
 or atleast midi monitor was not showing a nonstop cycle of "Reset"
 program changes. Midi monitor only showed when I struck a
 note(as it should). I have my MK hooked up to a Focusright
 Scarlett 18i8 and that is connected to my Mac Mini (2012)
 which runs Kontact and the samples are alternate mode
 Vibraphone samples. I have the Mac, the Scarlett and a small
 LCD monitor plugged into a surge protector then I plug the
 surge protector into the bar's Surge protector.
 Unfortunately the outlets are limited and there are 3
 outlets but all 3 give the same results. the 2 outlets are
 all running 4 powered speakers, a mixer running an amp with
 2 monitors and 3-4 mics. Also a bass Amp and a Piano with
 amp. even if I am plugged in by myself, the issue pops up.
 Another funny thing is that my backup plan is my receptor. I
 plugged it into the outlet and it wouldn't even load up.
 it turned on but just said initializing (for a solid
 hour).Again, after the gig, I went back to my practice space
 and it booted up within a minute. I don't know how to go
 about trouble shooting this. I have another gig there in 3
 weeks and am having a panic attack while contemplating
 pulling out of the gig. Again, I could really use this
 steady gig. It is a step up my latter into playing on a more
 professional level/basis. Would a battery or Power
 conditioner help? I am not up to par with you on my
 electronics for I started out an acoustic percussionist
 and  have had to learn basic speakers, cables, and mixers
 on my own. Any help would be so appreciative.

dscandal

  • Cool Kat
  • **
  • Posts: 10
Re: Some help will do. anybody?
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2016, 11:23:30 PM »
I use midi monitor by the way. that is where I see the "reset message." I took the unit home and it works fine here as well. I left the MK and Mac sitting quietly on all night to see any MIDI Monitor messages and I got the same "Reset Message" 3 times. I raised the thresholds globally and left it on the next night. I got the "reset" message 5 times sporadically through the night.

ton

  • The Kat's Meow
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
Re: Some help will do. anybody?
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2016, 07:34:26 AM »
I would try a factory reset first. If that doesn't help I'd try to contact Alternate Mode.

On the other hand: you say the receptor didn't work in the Bar either. That makes it less likely the source of your problem is in your Malletkat. But I had once some strange problem which I think started after a power outage which were solved by a factory reset ....

And maybe you can test during off-hours on the other site of the Bar, using another outlet.
Don't know the english electrical vocabulary well enough, does "an outlet on another group" makes sense? Or "on another fuse"?

Wouldn't wait for 3 weeks though
« Last Edit: March 31, 2016, 11:14:11 AM by ton »

pljones

  • KAT Diety
  • *****
  • Posts: 1293
  • NINJAMmer
    • The Dwarfen Realm
Re: Some help will do. anybody?
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2016, 02:39:27 PM »
I'd agree with ton.

It does sound like you're probably getting a power drop and the MK does a brief reset, as well as hitting the other bits of equipment.

Avoid running any amps or electronics off a circuit that's running chillers or anything with a thermostat, even with a surge protector -- may surge protectors simple aren't worth the money you pay so it's not worth the risk.  It's better to run long leads from either unused outlets or from chain from ones with low power equipment.  (You don't really even want to be sharing with the PA the bar uses to call out meal orders...)

So yeah, go casing the joint to see what they can offer :).

dscandal

  • Cool Kat
  • **
  • Posts: 10
Re: Some help will do. anybody?
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2016, 12:09:36 AM »
thanks all for the help. First I raised the threshold. left unit on over night. still had some reset messages. Next I reset the thresholds and left it on overnight. Still had reset messages. Now I Reinitialized the whole thing. Going to see if that works.

dscandal

  • Cool Kat
  • **
  • Posts: 10
Re: Some help will do. anybody?
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2016, 12:14:25 AM »
 By the way, does anybody use a UPS (Uninterruptable Power Source) for their Gigs? I would just need one for the MalletKat and a computer maybe a monitor and a soundcard. Anyone have any experience with these things? Any good ones out there? I see a couple brands Cyber Power APC. Lots to try to Digest with the Joules and Watts and Volts.

dscandal

  • Cool Kat
  • **
  • Posts: 10
Re: Some help will do. anybody?
« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2016, 12:17:46 AM »
I would try a factory reset first. If that doesn't help I'd try to contact Alternate Mode.

On the other hand: you say the receptor didn't work in the Bar either. That makes it less likely the source of your problem is in your Malletkat. But I had once some strange problem which I think started after a power outage which were solved by a factory reset ....

And maybe you can test during off-hours on the other site of the Bar, using another outlet.
Don't know the english electrical vocabulary well enough, does "an outlet on another group" makes sense? Or "on another fuse"?

Wouldn't wait for 3 weeks though

Thanks and yes An outlet "on another fuse" would be American Electrical English

dscandal

  • Cool Kat
  • **
  • Posts: 10
Re: Some help will do. anybody?
« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2016, 01:23:30 AM »
Email from Alternate Mode:

Interesting bunch of problems.  I think you need to get a UPS (uninterupted power supply).
If the voltage is fluctuating at the place, this will help.   There also could be serious grounding problems at the venue.  There are inexpensive test equipment you can get to check out the power condition where you play.
You should know that bad power can ruin equipment.
The fact that everything is fine hope, points to the venue, not your equipment  BUT I have one suggestion for the malletKAT.
RAISE THE THRESHOLDS GLOBALLY.  Your problem sounds like the malletKAT is false triggering.   If you step on the edit footswitch and the sustain two footswitch a the same time, the threshold screen shows up.   Hit the forward key three or four times, release the fooswitch and continue monitoring the MIDI Scope.  Leave the malletKAT on overnight connected to the scope and see if any data is sent out.

ton

  • The Kat's Meow
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
Re: Some help will do. anybody?
« Reply #8 on: April 04, 2016, 08:57:25 AM »
Hope you get your problems solved.
Please keep us posted.

Good Luck,
Ton

dscandal

  • Cool Kat
  • **
  • Posts: 10
Re: Some help will do. anybody?
« Reply #9 on: April 09, 2016, 02:14:18 AM »
I returned to the performance location and I used a multimeter on the power outlets. All of the outlets available to the musicians were registering at 112volts. I found some other outlets on the other side of the place that registered at 122volts. When I plugged my equipment into the 112volt outlets, the same problem occurred. When I plugged into the 122volt outlet, Success. My computers (receptor and mac) must need atleast 120 to work correctly I believe.

pljones

  • KAT Diety
  • *****
  • Posts: 1293
  • NINJAMmer
    • The Dwarfen Realm
Re: Some help will do. anybody?
« Reply #10 on: April 09, 2016, 03:19:11 AM »
Good to hear you've found a possible cause and a potential solution!

(Try getting the place to have a good electrician in to re-organise their wiring...)

gmbydmit

  • Extra Special KAT Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 493
  • legend in my own mind!
Re: Some help will do. anybody?
« Reply #11 on: April 09, 2016, 09:01:13 AM »
ok, so let me play the devil's advocate here....

a lot of gig places (I hesitate calling them venues :-) aren't going to put jack diddly into fixing something like this, unless their back is to the wall and the law requires them to do so....

so, my question is:

what if you cannot run a long extention cord to the good outlets then what?
or
what if the gig is outside? ....

is something like this a viable option:

http://www.electricgeneratordepot.com/honda-super-quiet-light-weight-inverter-1000w-120v-fuel-efficient-generator-with-parallel-capability-and-oil-alert-5684?google=1&CAWELAID=230006220000000035&CAGPSPN=pla&gclid=COSToYLNgcwCFVUkgQodmGgNlQ

food for thought
T